press photo.jpg

Minta & The Brook Trout hail from Lisbon, Portugal. SLOW, released early in 2016 by the country’s oldest label, Valentim de Carvalho, is the band’s third album. It follows a self-titled debut in 2009 and 2012's sophomore Olympia, re-released on Philadelphia-based cassette label Hope For The Tape Deck in 2014.

Minta started out back in 2006 – when MySpace was all the rage – as an outlet for singer-songwriter Francisca Cortesão’s home recordings. You, released in 2008, held five of them. A year later, the name Minta & The Brook Trout followed, as the solo act developed into a band, at the heart of which Francisca's succinct songs and Mariana Ricardo’s flawless arrangements have been since.

A cast of extremely talented musicians has orbited around the duo, both as members of The Brook Trout and special guests. Carnide a live album recorded in 2010, captures the collective element of the band, featuring long time band members Manuel Dordio (guitar) and Nuno Pessoa (drums) as well as recurring guests João Cabrita (saxophone), BlackBambi and Luís Nunes (vocals).

These days, Minta & The Brook Trout is a five-piece band: Francisca Cortesão, Mariana Ricardo, Bruno Pernadas, Margarida Campelo and Tomás Sousa.